GOP Congress to object on Jan. 6 joint session

At least 25 Republicans plan on challenging electoral votes during next month’s joint session of Congress, according to a tally by The Epoch Times.

When the electoral votes are counted, there will be an opportunity for objections to be raised and seconded during the Jan. 6 session. If this happens, there is a path for Donald Trump to win the presidency.

Senator Josh Hawley (R-Mo.) is the only member or member-elect of the Senate to officially commit to an objection, according to Epoch Times, although Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Tx.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Loeffler (R-Ga.), Johnson (R-Wis.), and Tuberville (R-Ala.) have also expressed a willingness to object.

“You’ve got 74 million Americans who feel disenfranchised, who feel like their vote doesn’t matter. And this is the one opportunity that I have as a United States senator, this process right here, my one opportunity to stand up and say something, and that’s exactly what I’m going to do,” Hawley said on Wednesday.

Here is the Epoch Times' list of lawmakers planning to object:

Sen. Josh Hawley (R-Mo.) Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.) Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-Fla.) Rep. Jody Hice (R-Ga.) Rep. Brian Babin (R-Texas) Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Texas) Rep. Ted Budd (R-N.C.) Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.) Rep. Lance Gooden (R-Texas) Rep. Jeff Van Drew (R-N.J.) Rep. Mark Green (R-Tenn.) Rep. Ralph Norman (R-S.C.) Rep. Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.) Rep. Scott Perry (R-Pa.) Rep.-elect Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.) Rep.-elect Madison Cawthorn (R-N.C.) Rep.-elect Barry Moore (R-Ala.) Rep.-elect Bob Good (R-Va.) Rep.-elect Lauren Boebert (R-Colo.) Rep.-elect Ronny Jackson (R-Texas) Rep.-elect Burgess Owens (R-Utah) Rep.-elect Andrew Clyde (R-Ga.) Rep.-elect Jerry Carl (R-Ala.) Rep.-elect Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.) Rep.-elect Diana Harshbarger (R-Tenn.)

The legislators plan to object to the Electoral College votes due to alleged voter fraud and irregularities during the 2020 U.S. presidential election.

A group of Tennessee lawmakers has invited state delegates to join the objection.

“We write this letter,” the Tennessee GOP lawmakers stated, “to voice our strong support for Rep. Brooks’ call for investigations into the widespread election irregularities.”

“Fair elections, free from foreign and outside interference, and fraudulent actions by State officials in violation of state law are pivotal to the survival of our republic, which exists based on the consent of the governed,” they said, referencing allegations of fraud and irregularities in Wisconsin, Arizona, Nevada, Michigan, Georgia, and Pennsylvania.

Their letter argued that there were violations of the Constitution’s Equal Protection Clause in all of the six battleground states, voting machines irregularities in five states, statistical anomalies in five of the states, claims that “poll workers were observed running ballots through tabulation machines as many as eight or nine times” in Michigan and Wisconsin, ballots allegedly being mishandled in five states, and other problems, according to Epoch Times.

About a dozen representatives in Tennessee signed the letter to Sens. Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.) and Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), as well as Tennessee’s GOP delegation to Congress.

“It is with these laws and their continuation in mind that we, the undersigned, ask you on January 6th to vocally support the rule of law, transparent government by joining Rep. Brooks in objecting to the contested electors from those states where Republicans have offered opposing slates of electors,” they said.

Computer Club.png
Computer Club.png
Computer Club.png